The Favourite Game — Comics

The Favourite Game — Comics
(après Klock–but sans graphics)

in vaguely chronological order–and please note that I gave up buying comics regularly in 1990, and have never really made it back… I am a far far cry from being an expert in this field…

George Herriman’s Krazy Kat (all)

Will Eisner ‘s The Spirit (and also the Wally Wood stories)

Charles Schulz’s Peanuts (all)

Lee & Ditko’s Amazing Spider-Man

Lee & Ditko’s Doctor Strange (in Strange Tales)

Steranko’s Nick Fury, Agent of SHIELD (and preceding issues of Strange Tales)

all of Carmine Infantino’s work on The Flash (especially the last few years of the    Barry Allen series, with unhinged Cary Bates storylines!)

Ditko’s The Question

Colan’s Daredevil (written by Stan Lee and, later, Roy Thomas)

Thomas & Colan’s Dr. Strange

Roy Thomas’ Avengers (with Buscema(s), Colan, Adams, etc)

Steve Englehart’s Avengers (with Buscema(s), Bob Brown, Cockrum, etc)

Gerry Conway and Ross Andru’s Amazing Spider-Man

Englehart, Brunner and Colan’s Doctor Strange

Dave Sim’s Cerebus

Stern & Rogers’ Doctor Strange

Hernandez Bros’ Love and Rockets

Roger Stern’s early-’80s Spider-Man books (much of it with Romita Jr.)

Roy Thomas’ Earth-Two Books (All-Star Squadron, Infinity Inc., Jonni Thunder, Secret Origins, Young All-Stars, etc.)

Gruenwald’s Captain America (with Neary, Morgan, Dwyer, Lim, etc)

Englehart & Milgrom’s West Coast Avengers

Miller & Mazzuchelli’s Daredevil: Born Again

Gruenwald and Ryan’s Squadron Supreme (with Buscema)

Moore & Gibbons’ Watchmen

Morrison & Truog’s Animal Man

Morrison & Curt Swan’s “Ghosts of Stone” (JLA story) in Secret Origins #46

Roger Stern and Kevin Nowlan’s Power of the Atom

Gerard Jones & Eduardo Barretto’s The Shadow Strikes

Messner-Loebs & Larocque’s Flash

Morrison & Case’s Doom Patrol

Chris Ware’s Jimmy Corrigan

Spain Rodriguez’s Nightmare Alley

Morrison & Weston’s The Filth

Morrison & Quitely’s We3

Morrison & Stewart’s Seaguy

Good Afternoon friends!
Dave

3 comments

  1. I’ve read so few of the things on your list. Not sure where I’d begin if I ever set out to rectify this!

    True fact: My dad fervently believes that Peanuts had its “jump the shark” moment when Woodstock the bird joined the cast. Your thoughts?

    Few times I’ve been around that track so it’s not just gonna happen like that,

    Jason Powell

    (I’m going to end all my comments to you with a Gwen Stefani quote from now on …)

  2. hmmm… well, I do think that Peanuts was at its absolute peak from, say, 1957 to 1966, so, in that sense, I guess your dad is right (Woodstock comes in sometime around 1969 or 1970, I think)… but, on the other hand, I don’t think the strip ever really “lost it” in the way that we usually mean when we discuss shark jumping… some of Schulz’s work in the ’90s was tremendous!

    as for the list–it’s a pretty arbitrary one, of course, and there are a disproportionate number of items on there from my own biographical period of true superhero fandom, 1986-1990 (and believe me, I wanted to include MORE things from that era, like the Simonsons’ X-Factor, Bates’ Captain Atom, Peter David’s Hulk, the above-mentioned DeFalco/Frenz and Milgrom iterations of Spider-Man, Nocenti/Romita’s Daredevil, Thomas’ Dr. Strange, Sorcerer Supreme, etc. etc.)

    none of that exhausts the bank of superhero things that I love, either–the Claremont/Cockrum/Byrne X-Men are excellent, anything by Steve Ditko (including Speedball!) is great, almost any Legion of Superheroes (particularly the Giffen stuff) ,any sixties Marvel is worth reading (particularly if you have access to the lettercols), the Englehart and Gerber Defenders are fantastic, Gerry Conway’s Firestorm–all of those and many more partake of magnificence!

    if I had to pick one thing from the list to foist upon you (and everyone else!), I think I’d pick the Englehart Dr. Stranges… in fact, it’s hard to go wrong with just about ANY Dr. Strange book published between 1963 and the beginning of the Infinity-whatever-crossover things that fucked Thomas’ series… one day I’m gonna re-read them ALL and blog about it here…

    Dave, walking in the spiderwebs…

  3. Ah yes, Peter David Hulk is so on my list.

    And Nocenti’s Daredevil is something I would really like to rediscover. I loved every issue I bought off the rack back at the time, but there are still a bunch of issues I haven’t even read once …

    Englehart Dr. Strange … hmmm … will have to look into this …

    A likely story but leave a message and I’ll call you back,

    Jason Powell

Leave a Reply

