untitled

Special “Tribute to The Comics Journal” Edition

Item One–the new issue of TCJ looks awesome! A Cerebus roundtable! (and the Colby Cosh piece on the Canadian sources of Sim’s antifeminism has already got me riled! more on that another time!) Sean Collins on New X-Men & The Goon! Tim O’Neil on Autobiographix! A piece called “The Future of Black Comics”! I don’t know nothin’ ’bout Ed Brubaker, but smart people like Ian Brill seem to love him, so I’m sure he’ll make a fine cover-subject… Needless to say, I’ll be buying this.


Item Two–the William Gaines audio file seems great so far! He starts off talking about letters pages! (and boy am I glad to see the Jules Feiffer interview go! I think Feiffer’s a jackass…)

And–item 3–they’re wondering “When Marvel Jumped the Shark” on the Messageboard…I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately (although, in my formulation, the question is not “when?”, but “why?”)–so naturally I had a reply handy!



Good Afternoon Friends!
Dave

2 comments

  1. Brubaker in a nutshell goes like this:

    Started out as a Chester Brown-influenced autobio cartoonist. Then he started doing a few book for Vertigo/DC that have a noir feel to them. That noir feel has influenced pretty much all the major works he’s done such as his Batman run, Catwoman and my favorite book by him, Sleeper.

    Ian

Leave a Reply

