untitled

Greetings From Brigadier Furryface (and other items of interest)


Barack Obama–the keynote speaker’s address was equal parts Eugene Debs (“Years ago, I recognized my kinship with all living things, and I made up my mind that I was not one bit better than the meanest on earth…While there is a lower class, I am in it, while there is a criminal element, I am of it, and while there is a soul in prison, I am not free.”) and Frederick Douglass (the “outsider” as cultural “insider”)–and it adds up to exactly what the Democratic Party should be. Don’t you think?

In other news:


If you have any cash to spare, you might want to consider using it to help Rick Geerling reobtain some of his most cherished possessions, which were pilfered from his home last week. Hang in there Rick!


H from The Comic Treadmill presents a statistical breakdown of the lameness of Captain America’s run in Tales Of Suspense.

And here’s an interesting article by Geoff Klock, author of the excellent How To Read Superheroes and Why–it’s called “X-Men, Emerson, Gnosticism”, and it deals with Millar and Morrison’s work on our favourite mutants… I can’t say too much about it just yet (I haven’t read most of the issues in question–and besides, I’m moving in two days, and there’s an awful lot left to do around here!), but I do know that I dispute Klock’s Bloomean take on Emerson (and Morrison!)–you can find my own ideas about gnosticism in American literature here.




See you Soon Friends!
Dave

5 comments

  1. Dave, I look forward to talking about the Klock essay (which didn’t really work for me, either) once you’re settled, and I hope that’s soon! I know I’ve been off-kilter since moving a month ago, but maybe that’s more my own fault than the move’s. Good luck on the transition, though.
    Rose

Leave a Reply

