untitled

The Second Wave

The reactions continue to roll in on Seaguy #1:

The Barbelith thread is really picking up steam now. Definitely worth the time it takes to register. I’m intrigued by the musing that’s gong on re: Chubby as a sentient thought balloon.

Chris M. of Howling Curmudgeon fame takes Morrison’s symbols for a spin and comes up with some dizzying insights–particularly on the chess match with death…



Meanwhile, David Allison at Insult to Injury has a lot of interesting things to say along the way to an anticipatory crescendo that I can certainly empathize with:

While you can clearly break down what a lot of the elements of this comic are supposed to represent (Chubby and She-Beard seem to me to reflect, among other things, elements of Seaguy’s inner world, while Mickey Eye and Xoo are obviously part of an absurdist commentary on capitalist society and the modern superhero comic), Seaguy as a whole still seems somehow inexplicable. Morrison and Stewart have created a light, breezy adventure story that is, rather fittingly, anything but light and breezy, and I’m ready to praise the hell out of them for this. Roll on issue #2!

And here’s my last word on Seaguy until next issue:

I couldn’t help reading the She-Beard sequence as a response to this passage from Wilkie Collins’ The Woman in White (one hell of a book, I might add!):


She had not heard my entrance into the room; and I allowed myself the luxury of admiring her for a few moments, before I moved one of the chairs near me, as the least embarrassing means of attracting her attention. She turned towards me immediately. The easy elegance of every movement of her limbs and body as soon as she began to advance from the far end of the room, set me in a flutter of expectation to see her face clearly. She left the window–and I said to myself, The lady is dark. She moved forward a few steps–and I said to myself, The lady is young. She approached nearer–and I said to myself (with a sense of surprise which words fail me to express), The lady is ugly!



Never was the old conventional maxim, that Nature cannot err, more flatly contradicted–never was the fair promise of a lovely figure more strangely and startlingly belied by the face and head that crowned it. The lady’s complexion was almost swarthy, and the dark down on her upper lip was almost a moustache. She had a large, firm, masculine mouth and jaw; prominent, piercing, resolute brown eyes; and thick, coal-black hair, growing unusually low down on her forehead. Her expression–bright, frank, and intelligent–appeared, while she was silent, to be altogether wanting in those feminine attractions of gentleness and pliability, without which the beauty of the handsomest woman alive is beauty incomplete. To see such a face as this set on shoulders that a sculptor would have longed to model–to be charmed by the modest graces of action through which the symmetrical limbs betrayed their beauty when they moved, and then to be almost repelled by the masculine form and masculine look of the features in which the perfectly shaped figure ended–was to feel a sensation oddly akin to the helpless discomfort familiar to us all in sleep, when we recognise yet cannot reconcile the anomalies and contradictions of a dream.

Of course, She-Beard has yet to prove that she is anywhere near as interesting a character as Marian Halcombe, but Seaguy’s reaction to a similar unveiling is so diametrically opposed to Hartright’s that I couldn’t help mentioning it!

And while we’re on the subject of superheroes and Victorian novels (two of my favourite things!), I feel I should refer you to this post at The Intermittent, in which Dave I., along with Nick Hornby, calls upon the tsunami of enthusiasm to obliterate the old high-low problem in aesthetics. I would substitute Capra (and Morrison) for John Ford (of course I would keep Dickens!), but aside from that, I wouldn’t change a thing Dave!



Also, I bought Demo #6 today and I liked it quite a bit (although not as much as #5, the highlight for me so far). I’ll post my thoughts on the first half of this exciting series right here on Monday!



Have a good weekend friends!
Dave

2 comments

  1. I notice that the early introduction of a woman with a beard is followed by the later depiction of a man who “gives birth” to xoo. Sex (but not gender) seems mutable in Seaguy’s world.

  2. Ah, Marian Halcombe. One of Collins’ better creations. If only Count Fosco had found her (or Lydia Gwilt, from Armadale)–what a team they would have made!

Leave a Reply

