untitled

From The Super-Lime To The Ridiculous

I was prevented from making my morning rounds today by Strat-O-Matic Baseball and programming glitches, but I did get to have an interesting conversation with Heidi MacDonald here. From what I can see, Heidi and I probably aren’t very far apart here–although I think it’s fair to say that I’m a little more excited than she is by the proliferation of comics commentary that we’re seeing on the web… In all fairness to her, I understand that not everyone shares my passion for exegesis-gone-wild (I am about to embark upon a project that will necessitate the creation of a “Concordance of Silver Age Lettercols” after all!)

For what it’s worth–I never took exception to the “dopey” aspect of the excerpted paragraph…it was only the pretense of “aesthetic expertise” that I objected to!



No time for anything in-depth on The Filth and “Young Goodman Brown” right now, but I wanted to throw out this item (which I also posted in this excellent Barbelith thread yesterday) for your consideration:


Does anyone else here see LaPen as a Wizard of Oz/Prof. Marvel figure? Perhaps Dorothy & Toto also went too far in their overcompensatory effort to “keep it real” in the Emerald City. But I guess these things can’t be helped. They had to get home right?



What do ya think? There are many other similarities between the two works–they both take place on multiple levels of ontological awareness; they both dwell upon the relationship between a human being and a small carnivorous pet; and they both feature the line: “Is there a Hell for monkeys dad?” (that’s a little known fact–Louis B. Mayer had it removed from the final cut of the film, but he left the crazy-ass monkeys in! Morrison was less timid–for which we are all grateful, I’m sure!)


Hopefully, I can finish off this Filthblogging tomorrow, because I’ve got a lot of great AiT/Planet Lar material to get to!



Good Night Friends!
Dave

7 comments

  1. Strat-o-Matic? Best game ever. The Treadmill will have to reveal stories of Strat-o-Matic and sibling battles, dice throwing, and gas leaks. Thanks for the inspiration.

  2. You’re welcome my friend!

    And I think you’re right about it being the best game ever–anyway, it’s a competition between Strat-O-Matic & Diplomacy…

    Dave

  3. Ah, Diplomacy. A group of us played it once sometime in the 70s and decided that if we wanted to continue to speak to each other, we’d never play it again. Great concept, but it’s just not to my taste.

    Mag

  4. I’m more of an APBA man myself, but my friends and I, during the 70s and 80s, used to get together during the summers and pick all-star teams and have a huge Strat-O-Matic season, eventually having a playoffs and championship game. Which I only won once. SOM is a lot of fun, even though I haven’t played it for years now…

    And you wanna talk sibling battles? Oh, man- we had the battling Carter Brothers. There are some stories there, too! 🙂

  5. When I was a kid, I played Statis-Pro baseball, but there are a few glitches with that game (Speed “A” players can steal around the bases with ridiculous ease)…

    So we moved on to Strat-O-Matic. Right now we’re using < href="http://www.retrosheet.org/">Retrosheet in order to recreate a couple of teams’ entire seasons! It make take us years, but it’s fun!

    I never played APBA Johnny–what makes it the best, in your opinon?

    Dave

  6. Well, when it comes to APBA vs. SOM, my preference comes down to solitaire play. SOM is much, much more suited to two-player games, or at least in my experience, and I think it’s because they actually print everything out right there on the player cards in SOM, but in APBA you have numbers on its player cards to cross-check on charts, which can be confusing unless you’re playing someone very familiar with the game, which was never the case. And since none of my friends were at all familiar with APBA, it was usually a challenge to try to play it with them!

    Since I was in the position to compare, I always thought APBA gave a more realistic game simulation, especially its master game version…but SOM really lent itself much better to two-player games.

  7. Ah-ha! Solitaire play! That makes sense Johnny–I can’t even imagine having fun playing Strat-O-Matic by myself. (I tried it with Statis-Pro, and that sucked too) I may have to take up APBA in Michigan, because none of my high school friends are coming with me, and I’m not going to stop wanting to play tabletop-baseball!

    Dave

Leave a Reply

