untitled

Soundtrack: Garrison Starr Songs From Take-Off To Landing


(Starr gets NO respect! I don’t get it…)




I’m still hoping for more responses to yesterday’s prolegomena to a reappraisal of the late Infantino–as far as I can see right now, it’s me n’ Bruce Baugh vs. the World on this question! I know that my friend Jamo (whom you may remember from his guest-post on Charles Burns’ Black Hole) hates the artwork on Spider-Woman, and Steven Wintle has assured me, privately, that the “Trial of the Flash” issues really rubbed him the wrong way, back in the eighties… Anyone else? In case you haven’t guessed, there’s nothing I like better than a rousing game of “how outta touch IS Fiore?”


Anyway, in between ransacking the first few chapters of my novel, reading Bliss Carman, and putting in my time at the ol’ salt mine, I’ve been perusing some issues of Daring New Adventures of Supergirl and Spider-Woman… I just can’t get over how much I love the artwork! I wish I had a scanner, because I think some of these pages ought to be in circulation! (also, it’s hard to talk about it without showing it to you…) I see from the letters pages though, that many people at the time wrote in to express their dissatisfaction with Carmine’s strange pencils, and the fact that he got very few of the cover assignments is telling…

Anyway, here’s my latest tangent: I think both S-W & especially DNAOSG were real attempts to bring a balanced “feminist subjectivity/POV” into superhero comics (of course, the creators were still men–Gruenwald & Kupperberg wrote the stories–and that’s not ideal, but still, it was a beginning… also, the excellent Lois Lane back-up in SG was written by Tamsyn O’Flynn…anyone know what happened to her?). When you recall that Cecile Horton (Flash’s lawyer) is a fascinating human being/non-love interest too (that scene in #336 where the speedster finds her underneath the rubble of her dynamited house in a sensory-deprivation tank is so GREAT!), not to mention all of those gender-shenanigans associated with Iris’ return…well, I think it’s pretty clear that Infantino was on a mission of sorts in the late-seventies/early-eighties! This is the kind of thing I wish interviewers would ask about! Isn’t it sad that superhero “feminism” took a Claremont/Byrne direction (basically gender essentialism) while the Gruenwald/Kupperberg/Infantino (Fiore) humanist/feminist vision hit a wall? (or, in the 1990’s, a round silicone monolith?)

Okay, I have to go! But now I’ve talked myself into checking this book (by a fellow Montrealer!) out of the store




I should be ready to talk about it tomorrow!

Good afternoon friends!
Dave

4 comments

  1. I misread what you wrote as Darling Adventures of Supergirl, which would be quite a different thing, though also fun.

    I do want to hear what you think about the Robinson book. I’d never heard of it before, but it seems to be right up my alley.

    Rose

  2. Those Flash comics rubbed me the wrong way in what I think was the right way. I had never seen art like that in a comic before, and it’s harsh angularity contributed to the unease I felt at seeing a superhero on trial for murder. It was a bit much for me to take as a little kid, but it certainly was striking and memorable, and I can guess that I would have a better appreciation of it now as an adult. Looking back, it may have been my introduction to an unappealing style creating mood.

    And, yeah, I know you find it appealing. Tough.

  3. Steven this is great–I think we’re in agreement here! I never wanted to give the impression that I find the angular stuff soothing in any way! It’s truly disturbing! But I LOVE being disturbed when there’s a point to it (not just “epater les bourgeois” stuff)… Does that sound demented? I hope not! Anyway, Steven, I’d love to know what you think of the Flashes now! Do you have any around?

    Dave

  4. If you’re looking for analysis of the “Flash Trial,” Bob Ingersoll has a pretty comprehensive look at it in the archives of his law-in-comics column “The Law is A Ass.”

    His aesthetic judgement is:

    “I find it ironic that the fastest man alive should be saddled with a labored, snail-paced story. I understand the original plan was to have this story go on as long as a real arrest and trial would, but with the way the story’s playing out, the only thing being tried is the reader’s patience.”

    Some links:
    http://www.worldfamouscomics.com/law/back20000801.shtml

    http://www.worldfamouscomics.com/law/back20000912.shtml

    http://www.worldfamouscomics.com/law/back20000620.shtml

    -Bill

Leave a Reply

